Hey there! Luke here from Quinforce Gaming, hello and happy new year. We hope 2017 finds you and your family in good health.

Today we have a more personal list/ I’m going to share with you my favourite games of all time. today we’ll do number ten through to number six, with only one game per franchise allowed, but first, how about some honorable mentions?

Overwatch: I’m not an online shooty fan but this game has grabbed me. I haven’t played it enough to say its one of my GOAT but it has potential.

Crash Bandicoot 3: It was hard between this and 2, but the wider gameplay variety and more colourful and memorable locations swung it for me. Looking forward to the remaster next year!

Ace Attorney 3: My favourite point and click adventure game and, in my opinion, the best plot and characters to come from an AA game. Who can forget Godo?

Undertale: A really fun, well written and unique RPG. Like Overwatch I shall see if this lasts the test of time. Hopefully!

Pokemon HeartGold/SoulSilver: My favourite Pokemon game took the mechanics of Gen IV and placed it in the memorable location of Johto.  My only major gripe is the overabundance of Generation One pokemon in the main game, but that was a problem with Gold as well.

Also

And with that said, lets start

#10: The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past

The_Legend_of_Zelda_A_Link_to_the_Past_SNES_Game_Cover.jpg

So the original Zelda was a landmark game, it gave us a protagonist, a quest and a wide open world to explore. Zelda 2 was a side scrolling RPG that was good in it’s own rights but ALttP was the game that really set the benchmark for what a Zelda game should be: puzzles, engaging combat, a memorable soundtrack and that feeling that you were on a grand adventure to save the world, as opposed to feeling like you were just doing stuff.

This game paved the way not just for other Zelda games, but other adventure games and for that reason its my #10 favourite of all time!

#9: Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim

The_Elder_Scrolls_V_Skyrim_cover.png

As I said with LoZ, I like games that give you a sense of adventure. Skyrim accomplishes this by introducing you into the world, then leaving you to your own devices. i put this above Oblivion because the gameplay and leveling system is more refined. With hundreds of quests to do and many different ways to play Skyrim gets the number 9

#8: Fallout New Vegas

Fallout_New_Vegas.jpg

Ok so I loved Fallout 3, but i found the lack of actual quests to complete disappointing, especially after having not long played Oblivion, which had quests coming out of the wazoo. Fallout New Vegas fixed this by adding so many quests and more. This game finds you in the Mojave Wasteland trying to find the man who left you for dead.

I’d say this is one of the best written games I’ve ever played. Most of the supporting cast are well fleshed out and the quests will leave you actually agonizing over your actions. I’d say that my only complaint is that i liked the locations better in FO3. FO3’s locations combined with NV’s dialogue and choices would be amazing.

#7: Chrono Trigger

Chrono_Trigger_Artwork1.jpg

Wake up Crono

Man I love this game. It’s just so bright and colourful and cheery while at the same time being incredibly dark and unsettling. This game starts off nice with Crono, our hero going to the fair, then meeting a girl before she gets sucked to 400 years in the past and you have to save her before heading to 2300 AD and seeing that the world has been destroyed by an inhuman alien. from that it’s a journey through time to stop this from happening.

This game is really helped by a unique art style (with characters and monsters designed by Dragonball creator Akira Toriyama), a great soundtrack and a fast paced battle system that doesn’t break off for random battles, instead seemlessly including them in the overworld. I’d recommend everyone play the DS remake.

#6: Sonic 3 and Knuckles

sonic 3 and knuckles.jpeg

So Sonic 1 and 2 are both amazing games, easily some of the best the Mega Drive/Genesis had to offer, but Sonic 3 and Knuckles gets my vote.

To play S3&K you needed to own carts of both games and use the lock on feature to get the full game (early DLC i guess). what this did was give you 14 levels to play through, Knuckles and Tails playable in areas they shouldn’t be otherwise, 7 extra chaos emeralds to collect and a full story.

Gamplay wise not a lot has changed other than the introduction of shield pick ups for Sonic that give him different abilities to help him traverse the well designed levels, and one of the best gaming soundtracks set the tone for the best platformer I’ve ever played.

